

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Lisa Trail, Director of Communications

MCS 2016 Teachers of the Year

(Murfreesboro, TN) Murfreesboro City Schools is proud to announce the 2016 Teachers of the Year. Teachers from each school were nominated for the prestigious education award given by the Tennessee Department of Education.

The 2016 System Level recipients for Murfreesboro City Schools are:

- Julie Parish Kindergarten Teacher at Reeves-Rogers Elementary
- Meredith Gilliland Fifth Grade Teacher at Hobgood Elementary

Building Level Teacher of the Year recipients include:

School	K-4	Grades 5-6
Black Fox Elementary	Deeann Stephens	Sanita Smith
Bradley Academy	Stephanie Turner	Rebecca Few
Mitchell-Neilson School	Rachel Prater	Matt Clarady
Scales Elementary	Beverly Soapes	Xan Laskco
Hobgood Elementary	Cheri Purdie	Meredith Gilliland
Cason Lane Academy	Carrie Smith	Elizabeth Shepherd
Erma Siegel Elementary	Rachel Haynes	Angela Pope
Overall Creek Elementary	Jennifer DeFere	Luke Hill
Discovery School	Jenny Newsome	Charlotte Young
Northfield Elementary	Mary Orcutt	Kelley Ruth
John Pittard Elementary	Spring Harris	Kenne McWhorter
Reeves-Rogers Elementary	Julie Parrish	Erin Lebo

"It is a pleasure to recognize and celebrate exceptionally skilled educators," says Linda Gilbert, MCS Director of Schools. "These recipients are passionate about their work and the children they serve. They personify the definition of an exemplary educator."

Teacher of the Year nominees are selected by their peers and must meet selection criteria. An important qualification in being selected as Teacher of the Year is the ability to inspire learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. The teachers will be honored on March 15.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year program is designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers, to stimulate interest in teaching as a career, and to encourage public involvement in education.

Murfreesboro City Schools is a district of twelve schools committed to the academic and personal success of each child. For additional information about the 2016 Teachers of the Year or other programs, please visit www.cityschools.net.

###