Board Members

2023 School Board Members

Butch Campbell

(Chair) Mr. Campbell began his teaching career at Murfreesboro City Schools. During his career, he served 31 years as principal of Walter Hill Elementary in the Rutherford County School System. Mr. Campbell has served as the official basketball clock operator for MTSU since 1977 and was elected to the TSSAA Hall of Fame in 2012. He was elected to the board in 2008 and is serving his third term.
Boardmanship Achievement – Level IV*
Email Mr. Campbell


(Vice-Chair) Mr. Richardson is serving his first term on the Murfreesboro City School Board. He and his wife Shaina Blair Richardson are members of St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church. Mr. Richardson operates The Law Office of J. Leo Richardson, III in Murfreesboro focused on family law. He is a graduate of Blackman High School, Middle Tennessee State University and the Nashville School of Law. He is also an active member of the community and has served as a member of the Smyrna Charity Assistance Board, the Smyrna Historic Zoning Commission, and an alternate for the Rutherford County Beer Board, former Vice President of Barrister’s Lion’s Club, and a Scottish Rite Freemason.
Email Mr. Richardson

David Settles

Mr. Settles is serving his second term on the School Board. He pastors the Living Word Worship Center and serves on the Advisory Board of the Tennessee Rehabilitation Center in Murfreesboro. He also serves as the Chairman of the Legal Redress Committee of the local branch of the NAACP. He is a licensed Pastoral Counselor and the co-founder of the nonprofit agency, Integrity Counseling and Family Solutions. He has lived in Murfreesboro since 2003.
Boardmanship Achievement – Level III*
Email Mr. Settles

Wesley Ballard

Mr. Ballard is serving his second term on the School Board. He is a retired executive of Nissan North America, Smyrna Manufacturing. There he held engineering and management positions in quality assurance, product engineering and purchasing. He has served on the board of the United Way, served on the Nissan Corporate Contribution Committee, Nissan Directors Council and Nissan Corporate Management Committee. He is a graduate of MTSU and has lived in Murfreesboro since 1983.
Boardmanship Achievement – Level II*
Email Mr. Ballard

Amanda Moore

Ms. Moore is an attorney and co-founder of the Tennessee Center for Estate and Elder Law, PLLC. She spent eight years as an active parent volunteer in Murfreesboro City Schools until her younger child began middle school in 2018. She has served on the boards of the Discovery Guild at the Discovery Center, the Stones River Watershed Association, and the Appalachian Citizens’ Law Center and has taught as an adjunct at Vanderbilt Law School and Middle Tennessee State University. She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University and Yale Law School. Ms. Moore is serving her second term on the School Board.
Boardmanship Achievement – Level III*
Email Ms. Moore

Karen Dodd

Ms. Dodd is serving her first term on the Murfreesboro City School Board. Dodd has over 26 years of classroom experience and currently serves as a math teacher at Rutherford County Virtual School. Dodd holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Mathematics from MTSU and Master’s Degree in Education, Curriculum and Instruction from Carson-Newman University. Dodd has served on various education committees including state textbook adoptions and math curriculum leadership.
Email Ms. Dodd

Barbara Long

Ms. Long is serving her first term on the Murfreesboro City School Board. Ms. Long is a retired teacher with 31 years of experience. She is an active member of her church community including serving as a teacher and holding leadership positions. She is a graduate of MTSU with a Masters Degree in Curriculum and Instruction.
Boardmanship Achievement – Level I*
Email Ms. Long

*To encourage professional growth of school board members, TSBA offers certified board member awards and a master board member award to members who invest their time and effort into becoming more informed and more effective school board members. The award is given for participation in activities outside of local school board obligations. There are five levels of achievement.